Monday, February 16, 2009

Trains in Kuala Lumpur

The Malaysian capital has few metro system to connect different parts of the city

When you land in KL by air you can get into the country by a lovely train - called as KLIA express after the airport name and express since it takes you to the airport from city (Kl central) in 28 minutes. This will cost you RM 35 for one way journey. This is the best mode of travel when you travel during peak hours or specially if you are short of time. Although it works out to be expensive if you are more than 2 people since you could get a cab for the airport RM 90-100. This is one of the most admired train services which always is punctual for time. KLIA Ekspres air-conditioned carriages are equipped with comfortable contoured seats, a washroom, overhead racks for light luggage and tiered racks for large luggage. Special wheelchair seat compartments have been allocated on board for the disabled.  Secured containers are used to transport the check-in and check-out luggage.  Backed by Siemens technology, KLIA Ekspres promises to be fast, reliable and comfortable.  Your safety is further assured with the fail-safe. Automatic Train Protection System. Public commuters may also ride on KLIA Ekspres as long as they have a valid KLIA Ekspres ticket

Train frequency:

  • every 15 minutes during peak hours*

  • every 20 minutes during off peak hours

  • every 30 minutes after midnight

KLIA Transit is a rapid transit service designed specially for commuters and airport personnel. It makes 3 quick intermediate stops along key townships - Bandar Tasik Selatan, Putrajaya & Cyberjaya and Salak Tinggi.  KLIA Transit integrates with KTM Commuter and STAR LRT at Bandar Tasik Selatan and with Putrajaya Monorail at Putrajaya's Western Transport Terminal.  KLIA Transit departs every half-an-hour from KL Sentral and KLIA terminals. Total journey time is 36 minutes. Fares are based on distance traveled. Tickets can be purchased through ticket vending machines and ticket counters at the terminal and station. 

Feeder Bus Servicing KLIA Transit Putrajaya & Cyberjaya station.  The Nadiputra feeder service which currently covers Putrajaya city and Cyberjaya's Persiaran Multimedia is owned by Perbadanan Putrajaya. 

KELANA JAYA LINE (Formerly known as PUTRA Line)

Kelana Jaya Line uses the state-of-the-art driverless system by Advanced Rapid Transit Mark II technology from Canada. It has a proven record of very high performance specification in North America and Europe and is designed to meet the demands of a modern city of Kuala Lumpur.

The alignment starts from the Depot in Subang and ends at Gombak Station totaling to 29km in length with a total of 24 stations. Interestingly it passes thru KLCC & KL Central station which are two important stations. 

MPANG LINE (Formerly known as STAR line)

Adtranz German is the make of trains and system for these two lines. Phase I was opened in September 1998 between Sultan Ismail Station to Sri Petaling and Ampang Stations and in December 1998 from Sultan Ismail Station to Sentul Timur.

It has 25 stations throughout the 27 km, transporting passengers from the northern, north-eastern and south-western suburbs in the Klang Valley.

The KL Monorail system consists of a single dual-way line that serves a total of 11 stations located along the southeast and northeast regions of Kuala Lumpur that had previously receive insufficient access to rail transport, namely Brickfields, Bukit Bintang, Bukit Nanas, Chow Kit and Titiwangsa. Only the line's two terminus stations run along a single track. Of the 11 stations, 4 are designated as "integrated stations" that are used as interchanges to and from the Ampang Line, Kelana Jaya Line or other transit services provided at Kuala Lumpur Sentral.

The stations themselves are largely designed in the same fashion, as elevated structures with a ticketing facilities on either the ground level (as seen in the KL Sentral station), or the first level. The platforms are located on the top floor, separated from the monorail lines with fencing and covered with a large cream canvas roof. Certain stations are situated above roadways, or are slightly longer than others. Each station is also designated with a sponsor, with route maps associating each station with a particular company.

Keretapi Tanah Melayu Berhad (KTMB) or Malayan Railways Limited is the main rail operator in Peninsular Malaysia. The 1,000 mm (3 ft 3⅜ in) gauge railway network in Peninsular Malaysia is controlled by KTM, consists of two main lines and several branch lines.

The West Coast line runs from Padang Besar on the Malaysia-Thailand Border in Perlis (where it connects with the State Railway of Thailand's network) to Singapore via Butterworth, Penang (for connections to Penang) and Kuala Lumpur. It is called the West Coast line because it serves the West Coast states of Peninsular Malaysia.

The East Coast line runs between Gemas in Negeri Sembilan and Tumpat with Rantau Panjang, both in Kelantan. Gemas is the rail junction between the West Coast and East Coast lines. Like the West Coast line, it is called the East Coast line because it serves two of Peninsular Malaysia's East Coast states, namely Pahang and Kelantan. In fact, it does not run along the coast at all and only meets the South China Sea when it terminates in Tumpat. It runs through the interior, often through deep jungle, thus earning the nickname "Jungle Railway". Terengganu is the only state in Peninsular Malaysia not served by the railway network, whereas Melaka is served by the Tampin Station in Pulau Sebang which is in the Malaccan side (Alor Gajah District) of Tampin town. Tampin is being cut through by the Melaka-Negeri Sembilan state boundary. The total length of the network is 1,699 km.

All of the lines in the KTM network are single-track, except for the section of the main line between Ipoh and Seremban, and also the branch line Sentul-Kuala Lumpur-Port Klang, which is now double tracked and electrified to 25kV AC, to accommodate electric commuter trains.

No comments: